Enabling Desktop Effects for Ati Radeon Xpress 200M on Ubuntu Hardy Heron

10 08 2008

To make sure that this is the model of your graphics card, on a terminal window and type:

lspci | grep -i vga

The output should be similar to this :

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)

Now we need to install the fglrx driver:

sudo apt-get install xorg-driver-fglrx

Enable the Ati driver from the System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers.

Reboot the system, open a terminal window and type:

fglrxinfo

The output should be the following:

display: :0.0 screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon Xpress Series
OpenGL version string: 2.1.7412 Release

That’s it.

Actions

Information

7 responses

2 09 2008
Fernando

Hi!

And if the card is:

05:09.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV100 QY [Radeon 7000/VE]

It’s the same process?

We don’t know how to install that ati drivers, envy tool didn’t recognize the card!

Thank you!

2 09 2008
Sidrit Trandafili

@Fernando.
to be honest with you and not pull advice from my a**, this is the resource i would check :
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/ATI

On a quick glance i would say yes. On the other hand, give shot to the process.
You can still undo it if it does not work for you and you wanna take it back.

Let me know. I’ll add it to the post.

Sid

1 11 2008
Drew

Didn’t work for me. I have ATI Radeon 7000 card. I ended up with something like:
display: :0.0 screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Radeon 20061018 AGP 4x x86/MMX/SSE2 NO-TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 7.0.3-rc2

I don’t know why it’s using MESA instead of ATI. Any ideas I’d be happy to try them. I’d really like to enable the effects…

10 01 2009
zoel

Thanx for it, i will use to my Linux mint šŸ˜‰

20 01 2009
Sidrit Trandafili

@Zoel.

Thanks man. let me know how it works, so i can add it into the post.

8 10 2010
Vikas Singh

Hi,

I am having issue with
Enable the Ati driver from the System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers

I don’t see the ATI driver in the list. I have two drivers in that list
1. Broadcom B43 wireless driver
2. Software Modem

There is not other entry.
I tried remove and install of the driver again and again, but it’s not getting listed.

Please advise.

Thanks and Regards
Vikas

25 11 2010
Janon

Same problem as Vikas.

I should note that when I ran “lspci | grep -i vga” I got exactly “01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)” as expected. Everything else went fine…it just wont show up in hardware drivers for some obscure unknown reason. Uninstalling/reinstalling the fglrx xorg driver accomplishes nothing.

Leave a Reply

